This morning when I decided to try a new recipe, I had no intention of writing about it.  However, now that it is all said and done, I feel like I need to.  (This post contains no pictures since I didn’t plan to write it in the first place.)

After I worked out this morning, I wanted to try a smoothie recipe that I found on Pintrest.  I was especially intrigued because the blog post claimed that this smoothie (with a tooooooon of spinach in it) would not taste healthy, but, instead, rather delicious.  I had prepped by putting my banana in the freezer a night or two earlier, so I was ready to give this one a whirl.  

I will say that this smoothie does not taste like spinach, but it also does taste healthy.  My banana was a bit green (OK, fairly green) when I sliced it, so the flavor from that was a bit off.  Just a tablespoon of peanut butter really does infuse the whole thing with an after taste of the peanut butter, but, overall, I was unimpressed.  While I did not feel like I was drinking a spinach smoothie, I also did not find the resulting flavor as anything I would call tasty.  My husband made a face when I put the glass down next to him and demanded he try it.  “You didn’t make this for me, did you?” he asked.  I shook my head no.  “Good.  I think it is awful.”  

I am going to give this a try again tomorrow without the peanut butter (but still the banana) and some frozen berries.  Perhaps the (now ripe) banana and some berry goodness with help make it into something I  would want to drink again.  I will say, though, that the recipe makes a LOT,  I filled two glasses and did not alter the recipe at all.  If this was something I wanted to drink I would be impressed by all I could have for the (relatively) small caloric intake.

